Image and Lifestyle

Fashion, Style, and Professional Impression in Hong Kong

Jump!

Christian Bale from the movie "American Psycho"

Pop Quiz Hot-Shot: What you do when a ridiculously fit, focused, GQ, Christian Bale/American Psycho look-alike at the gym suggests you start jumping rope to burn more fat?  Here’s what you do – pick up a rope, and start skipping baby.  And so it begins….

I picked up a weighted jump-rope in the gym yesterday, turned on my i-pod shuffle, and hopped around for twenty minutes, I felt absolutely FANTASTIC!  Definitely better than walking at a level 7 on the treadmill watching Nigella Lawson’s baking show on TLC.  I was seriously sweating and it felt great… then I followed it up with one hour of weights.  It reminded me about the awesomeness which is jumping rope.

  • Reminds you of being a kid
  • You can move at various speeds
  • Burns insane fat and calories – the best cardio workout ever!!!!
  • You won’t get bored as easily as you might on stationary cardio equipment
  • Easy to travel with a jump rope
  • You look like a cool ninja-type person
  • You get seriously toned legs and a great tush

It isn’t exactly a revelation – I’ve done lots of skipping in the past one year – but not since Thanksgiving.  Plus, my brother actually gave me an amazing jump-rope for Christmas… so I’m starting to see the writing on the wall.  GQ-hottie couldn’t have reminded me about the benefits at a better time either… it’s just about time to start planning a beach & bikini getaway!

 

Filed under: Belly and Core, Exercise, Fitness - Motivation, Health, Legs, Losing Weight, Manage stress, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

