Image and Lifestyle

Fashion, Style, and Professional Impression in Hong Kong

Best Shopping in Hong Kong – Department Stores

Harvey Nichols shop in The Landmark, Central, ...

Image via Wikipedia

People often ask me “where is the best place to shop in Hong Kong?”  My personal preference is Central – blissfully surrounded by convenient suspended walkways connecting the power hubs of Landmark and IFC shopping malls which boast Lane Crawford and Harvey Nichols… with Princes Building, Alexandra House, and Chater House dotted along the way with their luxury Chanel, Prada, LV, Armani, etc.  In terms of the best area to shop, my answer is Central.

In terms of where to shop?  Oh my… thought you’d never ask!

  • Lane Crawford, is my first-born and favorite because it feels easy.  I love shopping in either the Pacific Place location in Admiralty or the IFC location in Central because the layouts are welcoming… and their accessories are presented well with extremely helpful staff.  I would say the layout seems more American… which feels comfortable to me and it is busy, hip, and less intimidating than other HK department stores.
  • Harvey Nichols in Central is for a unique taste level and a confident shopper will do well in this mecca of a department store.  The costume jewelry section and ladies’ dresses are particularly different with slightly off-beat, yet very hot labels.  It is more European … and the store is never busy which means that while the staff will hound you, the service is excellent.  Worth a walk-through at the very least… particularly the beauty floor with refinement not found at other department stores in Hong Kong.
  • Joyce is a totally different kind of shopping experience for someone who has a little bit of time to appreciate the unique quality and selection chosen by their buyers.  I really enjoy shopping here… and I always find myself inspired to try something new and  different because when I shop here, I feel more fashionable.  I think that is important – to feel fashionable when one shops.  Joyce offers a wide selection of carefully chosen clothing labels.  Beyond that, Joyce Beauty is the place to find premium cosmetics, perfumes, candles, and all things lovely for gifts and spoiling oneself by labels such as Eve Lom, Diptyque, Annick Goutal… and my favorite parfumeur  – L’artisan.  Yes, Joyce is a fun place to shop and explore.
  • The “IT” and “it” stores in Hong Kong offer totally unusual and special designers.  “IT” carries more European brands, while “it” carries causal Japanese jeanswear and young street clothing.  My experience is that the staff, sizes, and brands are tailored for the fashion savvy and artsy local Hong Kong population.  Go in, look around, and don’t feel bad if you don’t find anything because some of it is hard to wear and difficult to integrate into your wardrobe.  It takes time… but try because you’ll find many gems in these stores.  My favorite designer – Isabel Marant is part of the IT group and her shop is located on Fashion Walk in Causeway Bay and sold within the IT stores.
  • Seibu – I’ve very rarely found success shopping in Seibu, a Japanese department store.  It is definitely tailored for the local market, though the brands are international and interesting… I must be on a different wave-length with the buyers for this company because it genuinely feels like I’m looking in someone else’s closet and I don’t like anything they own, though it might be full of well-designed pieces.  The fitting rooms, music, staff, and lighting all feel dated and somewhat stale – not my pick unless I need a particular brand sold here.
Filed under: Fall Fashion 2010, Hong Kong, Shopping Advice, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. […] Best Shopping in Hong Kong – Department Stores (jenniehopepeterson.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

