Image and Lifestyle

Fashion, Style, and Professional Impression in Hong Kong

Necessary Evils of Beauty: Hair Care (4)

I admire the beauty of a healthy head of hair… often found on girls too young to be influenced to change themselves yet.  I still remember my mother’s sad look when I changed my locks from their natural strawberry blonde to blonde.   The blonde was fresh and fun… a bit more cosmopolitan, but lacked the youthful shine and health from the natural state.  Regular salon conditioning, gentle brushing, and nice products restored luster and health to my hair and it is nearly all back to my natural red.  I hope other women will treasure their locks as their most valued accessory, as it is the only one to be worn every day.  The time, cost, and patience are necessary evils to ensuring a gorgeous and healthy mane.

Women generally struggle with their hair.  The color, texture, shape, frizz, curl, dryness, hair loss, etc.  I’ll say this up front – the best thing I ever did for my hair was read “The Hair Bible” by Philip Kingsley, a world-renowned trichologist who has worked with celebrities for decades.  http://www.philipkingsley.com/ I talked with him not too long ago about my own hair issues… the man knows his stuff.  The most important points I took away from our conversation and his book:

  • Use his Elasticizer product regularly – a before shampoo treatment
  • Do not use the incorrect shampoo and conditioner for your hair type
  • Do not brush your hair unless absolutely necessary
  • Never brush wet hair – use a particular type of wide-tooth comb
  • Nourish your hair with conditioning treatments and scalp treatments on a regular basis
  • Your diet strongly affects your hair
  • Avoid tying your hair back into elastic bands whenever possible to prevent a receding hair line and breakage
Filed under: Beauty, Grooming, Hair, Health, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

