Image and Lifestyle

Fashion, Style, and Professional Impression in Hong Kong

Training for an Ultra-Marathon: Fitness Plan

Hello Friends,

With just under one month to go, I need to get some serious conditioning under my belt if I hope to do well (err, I mean finish) The Sahara Race, part of the “4 Deserts”, named by TIME magazine, as one of the top 10 Endurance Competitions in the world.

In general, I stay in shape by working out no fewer than 4 days/week; keeping active 7 days/week.  However, my adventure last weekend into the mountains of Sai Kung with a loaded pack (previous post) indicated I need to train much harder in the next three weeks to be fit enough to enjoy the beautiful Sahara Desert rather than crawling on all fours to the finish line.  Therefore, I created the following fitness plan for the next three weeks:

  • Run 10 Kilometers six days/week.  So far, this takes me almost exactly 1 hour.
  • Intense circuit conditioning at PURE, IFC with my long-term personal trainer Fred Wong 2 days/week with a 10 Kilogram weight in my racing backpack: lunges, one-legged squats, stepping, running in place, etc.  Fred designs amazing workouts… I practice what I preach and workout with a personal trainer 2-3x/week.
  • Heavy weight-resistance training at least 1 day/week for bench press, squat, and dead lift for major muscle groups with Fred.
  • Pilates 1-2 x/week independently and at OPS in Central.

I’ve been following the weight training for several weeks, but this is only Day 2 of the 10K running.  I’m feeling very good, although my legs are a bit tender due to my tight iliotibial (IT) bands on my outer thighs. Hope to resolve this IT band issue in the coming few weeks with lots of foam rolling, gentle stretching, arch supports, etc.

Stay tuned for my next post about my dietary changes and “detox” leading up to the race.

I am running to help raise funds for HOPE for Charity.  If you care to donate, kindly refer to the below donation details.  Thank you!

The charity’s account details (Hong Kong):

HSBC Account no: 813-284411-001; Hope for Children

Reference mentioned “Jennie Running The Sahara”

Cheque payable to “Hope for Children (Hong Kong) limited”

GPO Box 947, Hong Kong

Please reference “Jennie Running The Sahara” on the back of the cheque

Filed under: 4 Deserts, Exercise, Fitness - Motivation, Hong Kong, Racing, Racing The Planet, Ultra Marathon, , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

