Image and Lifestyle

Fashion, Style, and Professional Impression in Hong Kong

4 Deserts Race Sahara – One month to go!

Hello Friends,

It has been a busy few weeks preparing for the upcoming 250 kilometer 4 Deserts race across part of the Egyptian Sahara (http://www.4deserts.com/).  Little thought went into to the challenge ahead when I quickly paid the US$3,000+ registration fee… I simply felt drawn toward the excitement of discovering such a vastly different destination on foot.  Weeks later, I began to wonder whether this was a bit of craziness I had gotten myself into, considering I haven’t even attempted a basic marathon.  Fortunately, Racing The Planet, which organizes the event, has a pretty amazing team of people who have invited me on 3 different outings/events in August alone to prepare for the adventure, meet the like-minded enthusiasts, and mentally prepare myself.

Speaking of preparation, I have spent a small fortune on gear!  Who knew you could buy a sleeping bag that scrunched down to nothing and weighs just 1 lb?  How about Injinji socks – neat little things that individually cover each toe like a foot glove to prevent blisters.  Or, dehydrated meals?  I had never known they existed one month ago… and now I know the brands, freezing methods, taste differences, caloric values, etc.  Simply preparing for this race has become an experience and opened my eyes to an entirely new lifestyle available to me – to us all.

Honestly, I feel inspired already just from the people I’ve met and their positive energy for living cleaner, healthier, more fulfilled lifestyles.  They have a different look in their eyes – perhaps from the places they traveled and the challenges from past races?  A discovery of some kind?  Whatever it is, I want it… and I have one more month of training and preparation before my fight arrives in Cairo until I find it.  I’m on my way!

Filed under: 4 Deserts, Fitness - Motivation, Racing, Racing The Planet, Ultra Marathon, , , ,

Leave a Reply

